Participant Offers


Winter Morning Walks LTD Edition CD

sold out
Winter Morning Walks LTD Edition CD
  • The Winter Morning Walks CD via mail
  • The complete ArtistShare Project Experience
Read More

Winter Morning Walks Download

Winter Morning Walks Download
  • The Winter Morning Walks recording via 320 kbps MP3 download
  • Downloadable cover art and liner notes
  • The ArtistShare Project Experience
Read More

Composer/Study Score Participant Offer

Composer/Study Score Participant Offer
  • 14 in-depth videos where Maria will walk you through her creative process for each individual song, including discussion about orchestration, addressing text, and her compositional process
  • Study Scores for all 14 songs in PDF format via instant download over the course of the project
  • Ask questions about the pieces and Maria will answer questions
Read More

Project Highlights

  • Receive prominent ArtistShare┬« Executive Producer credit listing on the new recording
  • Follow the creative process behind the creation of this historic recording
  • Attend a performance at Carnegie Hall as Maria's guest
  • Receive signed original handwritten score pages from the recording
  • Receive personal phone calls from Maria as the project progresses
  • Limited Edition Winter Morning Walks  CD

About this project

Update: Winter Morning Walks was released in 2013 and subsequently won three GRAMMY awards. The following description was written prior to its launch. All documentation described below continues to be made available to everyone who purchases Winter Morning Walks in any form. All you need to do is login after your purchase. We had a lot of fun documenting the making of this recording and hope you, too, will enjoy a glimpse behind the scenes as well.  Winter Morning Walks was awarded 3 GRAMMYS in 2014. 

Maria Schneider "Best Contemporary Classical Composition" for the song cycle, "Winter Morning Walks" 

Dawn Upshaw "Best Classical Vocal Solo "Album 

David Frost, Tim Martyn and Brian Losch "Best Engineered Album, Classical" Album

I'm thrilled to announce that I'm making a new recording!  I'm taking a new direction as I record two works for chamber orchestra, along with the renowned and splendid soprano, Dawn Upshaw.  This is a really exciting venture for me, if not a Rubik's cube to organize!

In early May, we'll record the first piece Winter Morning Walks with poetry by Ted Kooser. Commissioned by the Ojai Festival and Australian Chamber Orchestra last year, ACO will record it at the conclusion their U.S. tour (see events).  They'll finish at Carnegie Hall (Zankel) on April 30th and we'll record together on May 2nd and 3rd.  I've written the work to include three specific improvising musicians with whom I've long been associated: Scott Robinson on bass and alto clarinet, Frank Kimbrough on piano and Jay Anderson on bass.  The piece is made up of nine songs and is around 28 minutes in length.

The second piece will also be recorded with its respective commissioning orchestra, The Saint Paul Chamber Orchestra.  Carlos Drummond de Andrade Stories, premiered in 2008, is based on the poetry of Carlos Drummond de Andrade of Brazil.  I've used the artful English translations by American poet, Mark Strand.  Composed in five movements, it's about 27 minutes in length.  I'll be recording with SPCO on September 26th and 27th at Ted Mann Hall at The University of Minnesota.  We will be doing concerts in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area over the following weekend.  It will be a joy to do this work in my home state, and at the wonderful university where I received my own undergraduate degree in theory and composition. 

I will expose some of my creative process as I complete these works. This and the fascinating process of recording will all be captured through photos, anecdotes and streamed audio and video. You'll hear commentaries from the musicians, engineer and anyone interesting who might pop into the picture.

Please join us as this mysterious process unfolds by choosing a participation offer that best suits you. We'll meet at the end when I send you the fruit of your participation and our collective creative work!