the score and parts project

scenes from childhood (three movements)

Scenes from Childhood (three movements)

Additional support Additional Support what's this?

what you get

  • Downloadable PDF Scores & Parts for "Bombshelter Beast," Night Watchmen," and Coming About"
  • Downloadable MP3s for all three movements
  • Streamed audio interviews with musicians who recorded this suite
  • Scott Robinson's Laboratory video
  • Tour of "Windom" video, Maria's hometown that inspired this composition
  • Streamed video of Maria going over the rehearsal of all three movements
   This project was completed on 5/21/2008    read more

Recorded on our second album, Coming About, "Scenes from Childhood" ('Bombshelter Beast,' 'Night Watchmen,' and 'Coming About.') is a suite in three movements with a running time of about 35 minutes. It was commissioned by the Monterey Jazz Festival. The whole suite maybe be played with acoustic bass, but on our recording, we used electric bass for the first two movements, which I think is preferable. We also used theremin to make an air raid siren sound for the first movement. It's not necessary to have that effect, and one college I went to, used a synth for that sound, and it was very effective. It's a challenge to perform all movements, but with a strong group with eager soloists, it can be effective.

There are a lot of materials included with this offer to help you with the performance of this piece. They included interviews with many of the soloists, and videos where Maria suggests ways of rehearsing this three movement suite.


  1. flute, soprano
  2. soprano
  3. clarinet